Week one in my classroom.

The other teacher and I had an idea, before preschool started, of what kinds of things we would do with our students.  She had a lesson plan written out, and I had visions of how we would run our day.  However, once we walked into the classroom and saw the children already in action, we quickly realized we would have to scrap any ideas and start over again.

I don’t know if it’s the fact that the two of us are new to this school, or if this particular group of students is just seeing how far the limits can be pushed, or maybe  it’s both.  Whichever it is, we are certainly being pushed.  In fact, for the majority of last week I felt like I was being pushed right off the edge of a very high cliff.

We have some wonderful students.  But we also have a couple who are down right spoiled, mean, and bratty.  And I’m not quick to say that about a child.  But you should see those children.

So week one was spent working on how to walk in a line; how to sit in your seat; how not to physically hurt other children.

We had to take a big step backwards, and, man, it’s going to be a challenge.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on 08/24/2008 at 1:06 pm

    Kids can be soooo much fun! And then some not.
    Glad to hear you may have survived.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lindsey on 08/25/2008 at 2:15 am

    Hang in there, that’s all I can say, Hang…….in……….there!
    Hopefully it will get better, but in my experience as a preschool teacher, at that age, sometimes, well, it doesn’t??? And that is why, I didn’t make it as a preschool teacher. When the thought of putting a child in the trash can and sitting on it sounded like a good one, I thought I’d better be moving on…………………..?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

