Today’s post brought to you by the letter ‘F’

‘F’ for Fuck it, it’s Friday.

And I’m really sorry to those of you who may be offended by me saying that, but today is one of those days that really feels like I should be given some sort of pass or something.  Today, I can curse.  Tomorrow, I will go back to using strategically placed symbols in place of certain vowels, and we’ll all pretend I didn’t just say anything offensive.  Okay?

I’m down to my last week — a week as of yesterday — of working as a nanny.  While I’m feeling sad at the prospect of not seeing these boys grow up and being a part of their lives, I would be lying if I said I wasn’t looking forward to some time without them here.  I am looking forward to having some free time — free of working, free of doing anything for anybody other than my family.  And trust me, my family is plenty of work all on their own.  I’m looking forward to getting rid of all the extra things I have to do when taking care of small children.  Changing diapers, for one, will not be missed this summer.

I thought I had a couple of hot job prospects for the fall, but now that more than a week has gone by with nary a word from anyone, I’m beginning to think otherwise.  I obsessed and made myself crazy for a week, then sometime in the last couple of days I decided to say fuck it, and just leave all the worrying behind.  I am going to concentrate on getting through my last week of work and the last week of school for my kids, and then I’m going to take long walks in the morning and spend the afternoon at the pool.  And, for now at least, I’m not going to make myself crazy about jobs.

I highly recommend taking a summer off, even if money does get tight, and spending some relaxing time at home.  I wish I could just snap my fingers and get a teaching degree, because my love for all those little tykes combined with my love for long summer vacations would make it an ideal job for me.  I would also love to be paid during those long summer vacations, because money does make everything much easier.  In fact, I really do think money could buy my happiness, especially since my happiness means having bills paid with enough money left over to go out to eat with.

My husband, he gets the short end of the stick, summer-wise.  He still has to continue to work while the kids and I bask in our vacation glow.  He still has to wake up early in the morning.  He still has to drive in rush hour traffic.  He still has to… you know, bring home the paycheck.  And I’m really sorry for that, honey.  All I can say is: sucks to be you.  But there is a bright side for him, and that bright side is that he gets to eat out for lunch.  Daily trips to a Chinese buffet make a lot of things more bearable.  Also, he won’t be trapped in the house with two fighting, whining children.  So there’s a silver lining to his big, oppressive, black cloud.  Kinda.

Me, I’m looking forward to opening up the front door and telling the fighting, whining children to go outside and find something to do.  And if they’re bored, well, lookie here, there’s a workbook with your name on it.  Also, there’s the TV, now go turn into a vegetable in front of it.

Ah, yes.  Summer — when your brain rots and your ass spreads from all the sitting.  I’m looking forward to it.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lindsey on 05/30/2008 at 12:32 pm

    I love it! You make me laugh! Enjoy your diaperless summer! I envy you!
    Lindsey

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dad on 05/30/2008 at 3:51 pm

    Not worrying about things you can’t control does have its upside.
    See Ya soon.

    Reply

  3. Posted by sara on 05/30/2008 at 6:04 pm

    oooo….PLUS daddy is coming to visit!!! you are going to have a great summer!!! wish we were closer i’d love to hang out and do nothing with you…..

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kari on 05/30/2008 at 9:07 pm

    I was feeling a little bummed the last 2 days, John has got to go out to lunch, 2 days in a row, on the company. But, like you pointed out, we get to go to the park & the pool on a daily basis. Yay to be you & me!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

