Brushing up on my talky skills.

Guys!  I have news!

I just secured myself an interview for a position with the Autism Society of my lovely state.  They are looking for Community Skills Instructors.  Basically, people to help those with Autism learn any necessary skills they may need in their daily lives.  It’s a part-time position, and, from what I’ve read, it sounds perfect for me.

Whether or not they think it’s a job that is perfect for me, I don’t know.  But I’m hoping…

After 13 — wait, let me count it… 1… 2… 3…, wow, it really was 13 — emails back and forth, I have finally been given an interview time for next week.  Now, I have no idea who else is being interviewed, or what kind of qualifications they might have, but I really do think that this is something I could excel at.

How’s that for confidence.

And I hope they still want to hire me after I sent the last email, which thanked the Administrative Assistant who had been emailing back and forth with me, and said, “I really appreciate all you help.”

The genius, it just flows from me.

Now you’ll have to excuse me, because I have less than a week to start psyching myself up for the interview.  The last time I went to an office for a job interview was in… hmm… 1999?  1998?  Oh. My. God.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lindsey on 05/16/2008 at 10:43 am

    Congratulations and good luck! That sounds like an interesting job. When you get it, I’m sure you’ll have all kinds of cool stuff to write about. I worked with an autistic boy for about two years and they are just AMAZING to watch and learn from. Be sure to let us know how it all goes!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by sara on 05/16/2008 at 11:02 am

    good luck! when’s the interview?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dad on 05/16/2008 at 12:33 pm

    Go for it !!! Just be yourself and you can’t go wrong.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

