Curse you, Alltel.

So, I’ve been searching for a job. A job babysitting children, that I can begin sometime in June. And this job search, it has not been successful. I’ve had a couple of emails, one visit from someone, and two missed calls. 

(But, in my defense, I’m not trying too hard because I still wouldn’t mind some of the summer off.)

The missed calls, they are what have me fuming. You see, there was a lady who needed year-round care for two children, and she was in town this weekend. She emailed me late Friday night and said she would be around for part of the day on Saturday, and could we meet? So I emailed her with my cell phone number and told her I would be running errands, but to just give me a call and we’d get together.

And then I went through the rest of the day wondering why she hadn’t called me back. Hmmm, I thought, I guess she’s just busy and hadn’t gotten my email.

Then, at around 7:30 PM, my phone beeps. It is beeping the little beep it makes when I have voicemail. And upon checking my phone, I realize that I have two voicemail messages. Voicemail messages from 10:15 AM. Voicemail messages from the lady I was supposed to get together with earlier.  But my phone, it never rang.  I mean, it did ring, but it was my husband calling, and not the lady I was waiting for a call from.  The phone never rang for her calls.

SO I frantically call her back, only to get her voicemail. And then I email her, saying OMG MY PHONE DIDN’T RING AND I MISSED YOUR CALL AND I HOPE YOU ARE STILL IN TOWN AND I’M SORRY AND CAN WE STILL GET TOGETHER AND YOU CAN CALL ME ANYTIME I PROMISE I WILL ANSWER MY PHONE AS LONG AS IT RINGS. Or something like that.

And I haven’t heard from her since.

Hmmmmph.

(But I’m taking my friend Sara’s words to heart : maybe it just wasn’t meant to be. And I’m not stressing, because we’re getting money from the economic stimulus* thing, so we will still be able to eat. And that’s always good.)

*I do not want this. If you had asked me if it was a good idea, I’d say NO. But I’ll take the money, especially since it’s coming — whether I want it or not.

Leave a Reply

