Smart can be scary.

I just came back from a meeting at my daughter’s school.  And no, she’s not in trouble.  Instead, she’s smart.  Smart with a capital S.  And while we always knew that, now it’s official.  She’s been tested and she’s Smart.

Now she is going to start attending a different school once a week.  She’ll be given extra school work in her regular class, too.  And I’m a little nervous.

Or a lot nervous.

I’m not nervous about the new school or curriculum.  I know that she’ll be a-okay once she gets used to it all.  She’s Smart, after all.  What I’m nervous about is that now she’s been identified as a gifted student, she’ll always have to give more and do more.  And to be honest with you, I don’t have enough faith in her to just KNOW she can handle that.

Please don’t tell me I’m selling her short.  I know that she is capable of doing amazing things.  I’m being more protective than anything else, and don’t want her to get into something she can’t deal with.  I don’t want her experiences in school to be filled with frustration from now on.  Mostly, I don’t want her to feel like she can’t do it.

Because what I want most for her, beside being happy in life, is to know that she can work her way through it.  I don’t want her to give up.  Here’s my thinking: it doesn’t matter how smart you are.  You can be mediocre, and as long as you work hard ,you can do a lot more in life than a smart person who gives up.  Make sense?

Oh, I don’t know if any of this makes sense, and I’m not even going to read back through it.  I just wanted to vent my fears and nervousness, and lookey-here, I have a blog to vent on.  Thank goodness.

So tomorrow she goes to orientation, and the week after next she gets on a bus and rides for over a half hour to another school and has a whole other first day of school.  I think she can handle it.  I hope I can.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on 01/14/2008 at 12:38 pm

    I am trying to remember how many times I left work early because my daughter (who also had gifted classes in other schools) had a “bad head-ache”. We lived in Severn I think. You didn’t have enough to do and you were just bored. Give her a chance now like you needed then. She will do just fine. Remember,
    She. Only. Likes. To. Win.

    Reply

  2. Posted by e on 01/14/2008 at 2:54 pm

    Ugh, the winning thing is a worry for me – she likes to win, and does it easily in her current class. But how will she take not being one of the best? In the other school, she’ll be average. Winning won’t be as easy! And I don’t want her to just give up because she isn’t the best. She’d rather not try, than try and fail. I hope she’ll learn that it’s the trying that really matters.

    Reply

  3. Posted by sara on 01/14/2008 at 6:37 pm

    well, welcome to my dilemma. i totally relate to everything you are saying. i think that davey and e are alot alike (i always have). davey was tested last year and has been going to ACE once a week this school year. i had HUGE misgivings about the whole thing. i even went into the principal’s office the week before school started to talk to him about it ~ it consumed me all summer!!! i could go on and on about it, but bottom line: HE loves it. he has no idea that I don’t like it. they do all kinds of neat stuff and he really has learned lots of “different” things, but sometimes i feel like it’s too much pressure for a 6 year old. but as long as he is happy and loving it, then i’ll smile and wave good-bye on those mornings he rides off to the other school. i had the same worries about being top of the class in “normal” school and not at the gifted school, but the kids are on such different levels, it isn’t really like that. there are some STRANGE kids and even stranger parents associated with the whole thing!!! and here are 2 things i never thought about until i had to live them: 1) having 2 schools and 2 teachers means 2 report cards, 2 open houses, and 2 parent teacher conferences and 2) they don’t re-test the kids every year (at least here), once they are in the program they are in it! i kept hoping that davey would fail the test at the end of this year and my problem would be gone, but he’s in it until he decides he doesn’t want to be anymore!!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Husband on 01/15/2008 at 9:25 am

    I am happy for her. However, all children are gifted. Not all do well in school but everyone has a place in this world. My boy is not going, but in his own way he is gifted.

    I hope e enjoys the program, and I am excited for her. However, if it doesn’t work out it is not the end of the world. Success in life is usually a result of good decisions, hard work, and simple planning. I work around alot of people who have even multiple degrees that are as dumb as a box of hammers. As long as she works hard she will be fine. Plus she will enjoy it, she loves school.

    We also agreed if our children turn out bad as a result of bad parenting that they can just live with us forever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

