Maybe I really do have a problem.

I sometimes joke about my OCD tendencies.  I write about them here from time to time, poking fun at myself for wanting to have things just so.  But, really, I’m not obsessive compulsive.  I’m just a little particular.  Peculiar, maybe.

But I can see that maybe, in another life, I could have had full blown OCD.  Take, for instance, the way I count things.  I pour my coffee creamer into my cup to the count of five.  That’s how I measure.  I walk down the steps and count.  That’s how I can  make it down safely when I’m carrying something I cannot see around.  I count to ten before I get into the shower.  I know what time I should leave the house so as not to be late for something (down to the last minute,) always factoring in time to go potty and put on shoes, and I must leave at that appointed time.  I count when I was my hands, although this one does not have a set number to go along with it.  I just wash until they are clean, counting to myself all the while.

So does anyone else know the exact number of steps in their house?  (Mine is 15.  Although you have to take 16 actual walking steps to make it down, or up, the flight of 15 steps, or should I say stairs?)  Anyone else count, or have any other ways they keep track of things?  Anyone?  Or should I seek psychiatric help… and pronto.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tia on 12/20/2007 at 10:08 pm

    Not so much me but Kye went around to all the outlet covers and made sure the screws were all turned the same way. I guess that really has nothing to do with what you were talking about but we thought it was a little OCD.
    (and weird)!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Husband on 12/21/2007 at 12:16 am

    Help, I married a crazy lady! I never even thought of how many steps our stair case had. Then again I do not really notice as many things as you do. In fact I’m not positively sure where my truck keys are.

    We are so opposite, I am glad it works.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kari on 12/21/2007 at 9:04 am

    I was starting to think my 2 yr-old was a little OCD because all last summer, every tree she would walk by she would have to touch(& we have a lot of trees) & also the fence posts. If she missed one, she would walk back, touch it, & keep right on going.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Dad on 12/21/2007 at 12:58 pm

    Wow, do I sense something along a genetic line? I’m not sure I can count. Not me. I’m fine.
    OK, maybe I am NEVER late for things. Always early. But that is it.

    Reply

  5. Posted by e on 12/21/2007 at 1:21 pm

    I’m beginning to think you’re right Dad, there just might be some sort of genetic link…
    Maybe our family would make a good case study one day. 😉

    Reply

  6. Posted by Ellen on 12/23/2007 at 6:47 pm

    It is genetic. I have the same problem. Counting everything. I used to think it was because I worked in a bank but it doesn’t have anything to do with money. Also Rex and Lindsey do the same thing. Dad (Glenn) also would count things too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

