Missing.

I miss England.  Specifically, I miss North Yorkshire, with it’s rolling hills and crumbling stone walls.  I miss hearing the sheep outside my bedroom window, and seeing the Dales covered in snow.  I miss the crisp feel the air has this time of year, and walking into town to do Christmas shopping amidst all the stone buildings and old Roman walls.  I miss it’s beauty, it’s simplicity, it’s…very being.  Never have I seen such breath-taking beauty and felt so very much at home.

I have a hard time calling where we live home.  I’m not really sure why that is.  I mean, we have extended family close by.  The kids are well ensconced in the school and the neighborhood.  I like our house and our street.  I even like the people.  But I don’t seem to be able to feel like this town, this state, is home.  Somehow, I feel like it’s a temporary stop in a long list of places we’ll live.  However, in my more practical mind, I know that this is probably where we’ll remain for a while, if not forever.

That last sentence, the one about being her forever, just makes me feel a little sad.  A little mournful.  And I don’t think I could explain why.  I guess this is what being homesick is like.

Do you have someplace that you just long to be?  I mean, besides where your family is, because that’s a given for me.  I’ll take being with my family over anything else, any time.  But if I could transplant my family without any problems, we’d be on the first plane to England.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on 12/12/2007 at 5:04 pm

    That would be my fault I think. We moved around quite a bit over the years. You were someplace for a few years and then moved on. Your teen years were England. We always remember our teen years. Not always a good thing. I can think of about 1 year that I really need to forget. But they do form our lives. I too miss England and think about it often. Remember I went back there for 3 more years after you moved on with your life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

