Proud and pleased.

I did something last week that I’m proud of. 

Oh, gosh, well, now I feel like I’ve got to come out with some sort of life-changing event.  So maybe I should say that differently:  I’m pleased with myself.  There.  Because, really, I did a lot more things last week that I’m more proud of, but there’s one thing that I want to tell you about that pleases me.

I stood up for myself.

Normally, I’m a very easy-going person.  Normally, I take little slights and brush them off, moving on with my life.  And usually, I can take a whole lot of crap before I finally feel like something needs to be done.  I wouldn’t say I’m a pushover, but more that I just don’t feel like certain things are worth the effort of getting all upset about, especially if it is just a one-off.

Well, last week something happened that had me stewing all week.  At first, I wasn’t sure how I should have felt about it.  It was one of those times when you stop and think to yourself, should I be upset here?  Was I just slighted?  It wasn’t an overtly mean thing, but just something that someone did, thinking they were right.  I stopped myself from overreacting, and took the week to think about the situation.  I knew an opportunity to bring it up would come again the next Friday, so I took the time to consider my situation.

And when Friday came, and I was still upset, I handled it well.  I think.  I didn’t plan a conversation, so nothing came out too rehearsed, nor was I accusatory.  When the time came for me to answer the question, “Is that okay?” I said, “No.”  I explained my thoughts on the matter and never once used the term you but phrased things from my point of view with liberal uses of I.  I didn’t get too emotional, nor did I even embarrass myself.  (Thank goodness.) 

I even walked away from the conversation without pinning the person to the wall about what they were going to do to fix it.  Because, honestly, fixing what had already happened was not as important to me as making sure it never happened again.  And later that evening I spoke to the person again, and they told me that they were wrong.  Not only were they going to not do it again, they were going to fix it right now, too.  Which is good.  It makes me happy.  And pleased.

And they should be very pleased, too.  Because what they didn’t know was that they had hit on an issue that I would not have just let go.  If things did not resolve themselves, I was ready to take this one to the mat, so to speak, and not deal with them again.  And — hoo-boy — they would not have liked that one bit.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sara on 12/03/2007 at 9:36 am

    what??? no juicy details??? 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dad on 12/03/2007 at 10:10 am

    You always do a good job of boiling under the surface. I’m glad you let it out this time. Whatever the reason. (Feels good, huh)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

