Girly girl.

I was so scared of having a daughter.  I was so worried that I wouldn’t know what to do with a girl.  I didn’t know how to be a girl, so how would I pass any girl knowledge onto her?

But today when I watched my daughter walk into school, with her clothes just so and her hair up in a ponytail–looking like a million bucks and more importantly, feeling like a million bucks–I was overwhelmed with a feeling of joy. 

I don’t think she has the same insecurities I had.  I think I might be okay with raising a girl.  And maybe, just maybe, she’s learning just fine on her own.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on 11/09/2007 at 8:19 am

    She is really a great one. Having part of her dad in there is also a plus for her. Remember that feeling of joy. It will come in handy when she hits those “teen” years.

    Reply

  2. Posted by sara on 11/09/2007 at 8:53 am

    i’ve got a super girly girl as well. and it’s not my doing. i never cared what my hair looked like or if my clothes matched. i think it’s just built in with some kids!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

