Tired and possibly sick (because I don’t seem to be handling this well.)

Today has me wanting to curl myself up into a ball and hide in the corner.  Here’s why:

The boy is sick.  Sick enough that I think he may have the flu, and I’m going to call the doctor for an appointment as soon as they open at 8:00.  He’s coughing, got a fever, and throwing up.  It’s not fun.

When I turned the heat on this morning–because my boy was shivering on the bathroom floor with his fever–the heater decided to make a loud buzzing noise.  The noise was loud and buzzy.  Very loud and very buzzy.  And I’m not an expert on these things, but I’m thinking that it shouldn’t make that particular noise.

The boy threw up on the carpet last night, leaving huge orange stains.  He had eaten garlic bread pizza, and let me tell you, the stench of regurgitated garlic bread pizza is horrible.  HORRIBLE!  B came home at about 8:30 last night (after a long day of work) and stopped by the grocery store to rent a carpet cleaner.  Which is how it came to be that I was shampooing the carpet at the crack of dawn this morning.

While shampooing the carpet, the dog decided that she would put her time outside to good use, and started digging a hole.  Oh, but that’s not the best of it.  The best of it is, she dug in the red clay, so that when I let her back inside the house, she had red clay all over her paws.  And guess where she headed as soon as she came inside.  Go ahead, guess.  If you guessed the freshly shampooed carpet, DING DING DING you get a prize.

Oh, and did I mention that B had to head back out to work early this morning, and so we woke up at 4:30?  And then the rest of the family woke up too, and so that’s why we’re all up and feeling like we should be eating lunch right about now?

So…excuse me while I go call the heating repair people, the doctor’s office, the school, give the dog a bath, tend to my sick child, and finish shampooing the rug (again.)  Also, I need to get the girl to school and make sure I’m awake enough to remember to pick her back up again. 

Help me.  HELP.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sara on 11/07/2007 at 9:11 am

    oh, no fun!!!!

    i hope the rest of your day goes better, i’ll check back with you later today!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dad on 11/07/2007 at 9:39 am

    Life is such a ball of fun. But it is always better than the alternative. We all get days like that. some get more than others. ;<)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

