Allergy tests.

My son went for allergy tests yesterday.  They pricked his back so many times, they ran out of room and had to move to his upper arms.  And his skin is so sensitive, the marks left big red welts for everything, not just things he was allergic to.  But not to worry, they didn’t mistake any of the little welts for allergies because the ones he was actually allergic to turned into ginormous welts.  My husband said his skin bubbled up like it had liquid underneath it.  In fact, they were supposed to wait 15 minutes after to pricking his skin before the test was over, but they stopped it after 6 minutes.  He was swelling so bad.

So apparently, my son is allergic to peanuts.  Which, who knew?  I mean, he won’t eat peanuts.  Never has, never will.  He’s too picky of an eater.  So in this instance, it worked out well for him.

Also, he’s allergic to dust. 

And the whole outside world.

I’ve been given all the information about how to reduce the dust in my home, and have had to take a few deep breaths to stop myself from freaking out because–oh my god–everything in my house is either dust producing or dust harboring.  But I’m working on it.

And the pollen/grasses/weeds/trees, well, there’s not much we can do about that.  Unless you know of a bubble for sale, one big enough to fit a child into as he grows into an adult.  The only thing he has to do that is different from all the things we’ve been already doing is take a shower after playing outside.  Right after playing outside.  I just thought that as long as he got himself washed off before bed, we were doing well.  But I guess it’s not just sleeping in it all night that would bother his allergies, it is also having it on his skin for any period of time.  He’s also been put on yet another medication–this one a nasal spray–to help keep his symptoms at bay.  That makes three different allergy medications.  The boy is getting good at taking medicine.

And there’s a lot more rolling around in my head, but I think that’s what I’ve got to say for today.  I was going to write about the different reactions he’s been having (the throwing up, oh my, the throwing up,) his skin issues, and what the five days off of medications before his test were like, but I don’t really think I have the energy right now.  I’m just glad that we’re doing something that feels sort of like moving forward instead of always stalling out.

Oh, and if you see that bubble, let me know.   Maybe I should check Ebay…

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on 10/31/2007 at 12:15 pm

    Yeah, peanuts, who knew….kind of like the problem with milk you have…(what were you about 12 before we figured that out?)
    What I keep thinking is that there is an enormous list of foods untried.
    The kid is great about it though. No choice in his life, he has too.

    Reply

  2. Posted by e on 10/31/2007 at 12:22 pm

    Yeah, he is great 😉

    And that enormous list of food untried, well, we’ll just worry about that later. They did test for all the allergy “biggies” — eggs, peanut, milk etc…–and also chicken, tomato, wheat, soy, and some others. He was good an all those (thank GOD!) so we didn’t have to start feeding him through a tube or anything!

    But no more going to Logan’s Roadhouse and letting him crack the peanut shells for us. (OMG we were trying to KILL him!) That also may explain why he threw up after eating there, no matter what we got for him to eat.

    Reply

  3. Posted by e on 10/31/2007 at 12:34 pm

    Oh, and B made fried apple pies the other night. They tasted so good that I may have had more than one–we’ll just say SOME. But not long after eating them, I didn’t feel very well. And then I started throwing up like I’ve never thrown up before. All night long. Well…he used peanut oil to fry the pies. And I also ordered some Walnut and Toffee popcorn from Dale and Thomas (totally yummy!) and it made my mouth itch. And then my throat. Before I really started to panic that I was having an allergic reaction and would have to rush to the emergency room, I was smart enough to take some Benadryl and it stopped.

    Anyway…I think I’m a little allergic to some nuts myself.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Melissa on 10/31/2007 at 4:39 pm

    My son also has been through the gamut of allergy tests, as have I. And while mine seem to be strictly adult-onset, Darren came out of the womb sneezing. When we went for our tests and the nurse told me that we were allergic to trees, I asked her what kind of trees? Because surely no one is allergic to every species of tree in the world…but guess what? We are! In addition to every thing else in the outside world. No foods, though. I like to think we are gifted in the allergy department.
    The whole dust-proofing the house was too overwhelming for me, but I have tried to make some small changes. And, we both receive weekly injections. Fortunately, we have an awesome allergist who has us both on just the right mix of serums for our problems. Also, we both use Flonase and it works wonders. And when Darren is still sniffling and sneezing, he takes a Singulair. It took us 8 years, but we FINALLY got him breathing peacefully!

    Reply

  5. Posted by sara on 10/31/2007 at 10:56 pm

    either that or you ARE a little nuts yourself!!!

    hee hee 😉

    LOVEYA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

