Realizing what is important.

The other day we had one of my son’s friends at the house, playing.  They were playing so well together, in fact, that when in came time to eat dinner, we let him stay.  (Normally, we chase off all the children so we can sit down to eat and have our children actually eat instead of taking a bite and declaring themselves full so they can go back to doing whatever it was they were doing before we so rudely interrupted them with life-sustaining sustenance.)

We invited this child to sit with us and have a little something to eat.  He was so very polite and nice, I marveled at how wonderful he was behaving.  And when he knocked over his mostly full cup of milk, I didn’t bat and eye.  I just told him it was no problem and got the paper towels out to clean it up.

While I was cleaning up the mess–I so want to insert something about not crying over spilt milk here–I thought about how I probably would have snapped at my own children had they spilt their drink.  I know I would have at least came out with a loud sigh and a reminder to be careful and pay attention to what they were doing.  I told myself that maybe I should treat my own children as nicely as I would treat a visiting child.

And the next day, when my son spilt his drink, he began to apologize profusely, afraid he would be in trouble.  I told him not to get upset, it was just an accident and I wasn’t going to be angry with him.  And my husband sat there dumbfounded, wondering why I was so serene about it.

I guess you could say I’ve had a revelation.  Or maybe I’ve given myself a goal.  I want to treat my children as nicely as I do others.  Because, really, they’re much more important to me.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Husband on 10/24/2007 at 3:55 pm

    It’s a good thing your growing in to just a wonderful person. However, I’m still going to fuss at them sometimes. I don’t want anyone getting to complacent. While Sadie and I sit eating cheese doodles we shall be ever vigilant in making sure there are no screw ups.

    I’ve got my eye on all of you!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lindsey on 10/24/2007 at 8:50 pm

    Kinda crazy how those things just smack you in the face sometimes, huh? I’ve had many so don’t feel bad. I’ve also been working on the whole “calm and collected” thing when dealing with my own kids! By the way, I LOVE that you have your picture on your blog. You are very beautiful and I have ALWAYS thought that! I remember when you visited us a couple times and thinking how pretty you are.

    Reply

  3. Posted by e on 10/25/2007 at 6:41 am

    Aw, Lindsey, you spoil me.

    Flattery will get you EVERYWHERE with me!

    And you, you are gorgeous. I’ve always thought so too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

