The Cure – Pictures of You

I heard this song this morning, and I can’t get it out of my head. 

Maybe you’ll have better luck.

I had a long love affair with The Cure.  There were several years where I walked around in their t-shirts and black docs, with a flannel shirt thrown on top.  I spent hours listening to them. 

Whenever I hear them on the radio, I tell the same story.  And for those of you who do not already know, I’ll tell it again.  (I must be getting old.  Isn’t telling the same stories over and over again a sign of aging?)  But first, some background…

I went to a high school in England (perfect for a Cure fan – it made me feel somewhat closer to them in a weird sort of way.)  (Hey, I was a teenager, what can I say.)  The school was a mixture of students who lived close by and those who lived very far away (some as far away as Saudi Arabia) and stayed in a dorm.  I was a “dormie”.  I tell you that I lived in the dorms so you can picture my teenaged self holed up in my room, listening to Pictures of You on repeat while mooning over whatever crush I had who lived far away.  I tell you it was in England so you can understand how it is a friend of mine (named Bob) swore he saw Robert Smith peeing on a tree in Cambridge. 

And that’s my story.  Oh, I know it’s not a good one.  But that’s what I say every time I hear The Cure:  My friend Bob swears he saw Robert Smith peeing on a tree one day while we were in Cambridge.  And now you may go back to whatever it was you were doing before you just wasted a few minutes reading this.  In fact, I feel like I may have wasted a few of my minutes writing this.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on 10/16/2007 at 11:34 am

    Yes, your fault! I have a couple of albums by them that I still listen to. (Hey, I like wearing flannel.)

    Reply

  2. Posted by sara on 10/16/2007 at 11:50 am

    when i think bob i think of his name written everywhere all over the entire base……

    Reply

  3. Posted by e on 10/16/2007 at 12:29 pm

    yeah, he had his name everywhere both on AND off base. And also inside his lip.

    “Two of everything but the O” I can still hear him saying it.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Melissa on 10/16/2007 at 4:01 pm

    “Pictures of You” is my favorite Cure song! It is in the top play list in my iPod.
    That and the ever-cheesy “Friday, I’m In Love.” Elizabeth and I used to blast that and dance around like fools

    Reply

  5. Posted by e on 10/16/2007 at 5:09 pm

    The guy who lived below me used to have alarm clock set to “Friday, I’m in Love.” For months, I woke up to it blasting through my floor at some un-godly early hour. I still think of him whenever I hear that song.

    Reply

  6. Posted by sara on 10/16/2007 at 8:41 pm

    this is off topic, but i love your pic up at the top!

    i miss you…..

    Reply

  7. Posted by Andrew on 12/04/2007 at 12:25 am

    Nice story actually… it is what makes songs so much more – putting them into a context and this is a great one for that. I bet MANY people have a great context for this song and is why HP decided to use it in one of their commercials. Hey – bes of luck to you!! Glad you are “in touch” because these things matter to you. It shows you are a deep person and that is great!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

