Weekend.

This weekend we went and bought a few bales of straw (do they call them bales? squares? stacks?) some mums, and a few pumpkins for the front yard. 

fall-deco1.jpg
(Like it?  It’s does double-duty.  The Halloween sign will come down at the end of the month and I’ll throw some sort of turkey/pilgrim something-or-other in there for Thanksgiving.  Oh, and the bushes on the ends were not intended to go in the display, but since I won’t be planting them just yet, I thought I’d throw them in.  You know, the more the merrier…)

I really tried to get into the whole “fall” thing, but it was 90 degrees and I was sweating so badly that it was dripping down my neck.  my hair was wet and sticking to me and my clothes felt way too tight and constricting.  All in all, I was miserable. 

Also, we had to make an emergency run to the stores to find shorts for my daughter.  She literally burst out of one of the two pairs she had.  They split right down the middle.  I’ve been trying to avoid buying more shorts and waiting for the weather to cool down, but it seems like that is never going to happen.  Oh, but here’s the good part – they didn’t have many pairs of shorts in the stores, because this is the time of year that they switch from the fall clothing to the winter clothing.  So had we been looking for heavy wool coats and down parkas, we would have hit pay dirt in every store we went into.  But shorts, now they were hard to come by.  We did manage to find her a denim skirt that’ll work with some tights and boots when the weather does finally cool down (maybe January? February?) a pair of shorts (amazing!) and a pair of pants that roll into capris.  So now the poor girl isn’t wearing one pair of shorts and washing them every night.

Oh, but don’t think that I had a bad day.  I had fun.  I loved picking out the flowers and pumpkins.  And Saturday we went to a Heritage Festival at a local park/historic site and had a blast.  But it would have been much better if it was cool enough to move outside, is all I’m saying.

Now I must go and get together all of my son’s medications because he’s going back to the doctor with skin covered in a rash that’s so bad that we can’t take it anymore.  My husband is taking him, and the man won’t leave until we get some sort of solution other than, “use unscented products and plenty of lotion” because that just isn’t cutting it and if they think they can give us the generic sheet on eczema and send him out the door, they obviously don’t know my husband very well.  And that’ll be a whole other post, I promise.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sara on 10/08/2007 at 11:53 am

    very cute yard! not like some of the halloween yards around here……geez people go crazy!!! we haven’t put anything out yet.

    our weather was MUCH cooler today. LOVE IT!!! when i ran this morning it was only 65 and sprinkling and it just couldn’t have been any better! hope you get some of that kind of weather soon!!!

    and no pics from the festival? hope that ethan gets some relief ~ you’d think those dr.’s would know something by now!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by e on 10/08/2007 at 12:34 pm

    No, no pictures of the festival. I forgot to bring my camera. I really need to buy one of those little tiny cameras to just keep in my purse so that I at least have SOMETHING with me whenever we go somewhere. Especially because I always forget to bring my camera. ALWAYS.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

