That’s what it’s all about.

So… I decided to take a little vacation from blogging.  It wasn’t about my lack of things to post, but more about my lack of willingness to pound on the keyboard for a while.  I felt like it was becoming a chore, and I had lost interest in it.

 My lack of interest, however, was not as permanent as I feared it might be.  It was just a case of absence making the heart grow fonder, which is such an overused statement, but a true one in this instance.  I found myself composing posts in my head and physically restraining myself from heading to the computer to get it all written down.  I figured that I should really and truly take my self-imposed vacation so that maybe I would actually want to blog again for the long term.

(I speak of my blog as if it is an integral part of my life, and I guess it really is.)

Why the vacation?  I had started to feel like I had to write something for other people, be they friends or family, and I tried my hardest to find subjects that I thought would actually interest these other people.  Only, I found that to be near impossible–who cares about my dog as much as I do?–and ended up just writing any old thing in order to fill up a little space on here.  Oh, but any old thing ended up being pretty…how should I say this?…craptastic, in my opinion.

Enter my vacation.  And, lo, it was good.  It gave me a chance to gain a little perspective and realize that this here blog is not for anyone else but me.  Plain, average me.  And if I want to write about a fun-filled trip to the grocery store, I could.  If I wanted to post a picture I found cute, I could do that also.  I could notwrite anything if I wanted to, without apologizing.  Also, I found I didn’t have to censor what I’d written (like I was spending a lot of time doing) because sometimes my mouth is foul, and sometimes I have an opinion that varies from those who read my blog.  And it’s okay.

(“Because I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and, doggonit, people like me!”)

I come here to write.  Sometimes what I write here is well written.  And other times I sound like a scatter-brained twelve year old.  Sometimes you read it, and sometimes you don’t.  Regardless, I’ll be here.  I truly enjoy it.

And that, to me, is what blogging is all about.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sara on 10/02/2007 at 11:35 am

    i’m glad you are back! i’ve missed you! and i ALWAYS check your blog and read it. ALWAYS. and i’ve never thought it was craptastic. you are a dork. i love ya ~ keep blogging. i look forward to it everyday! 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dad on 10/02/2007 at 1:34 pm

    we all up here in the far north are glad you are back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

