Daughter.

Oh, my daughter…

First, let me start off by saying that she’s a wonderful girl.  She’s full of personality, and she’s intelligent, and she’s kind, and she’s, well, wonderful.  And now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, let me tell you that she’s highly annoying.  And when I say highly, I mean, she will annoy you so bad you may consider clawing your ears off just to get her to be quiet. 

Now, I happen to know that she can annoy other people just the same as she annoys me.  However, I also happen to know that she doesn’t do it nearly as often.  Oh no, she saves the majority of it just for me.   Whether or not she does it on purpose, I’m not sure.

But here’s my problem:  I lose my temper with her way too easily.  While I can have limitless reserves of patience sometimes, other times I cannot even stop myself from raising my voice.  My jaw gets tight and my muscles tense and my eyes squint shut and my voice rises to a decibel level that could (and quite possibly has) deafen unsuspecting pedestrians.  And while it doesn’t happen every single time, the longer she’s alive the more it happens, and also the more quickly it gets to that point.

I hate getting angry with her.  I hate when I feel like I cannot get her to stop whatever annoying behavior she is doing this time around with just a quiet word or a stern look.   She hears those quiet words and sees those looks, and then one-ups them by being even more maniacally crazy.  It’s really a never ending circle.  And I’m dizzy.

Oh, and let me tell you, the girl is so full of BS that I wonder why it is she doesn’t smell.  She can feed you a line, and then when you call her on it’s BS-ness, she’ll feed you another line to cover everything up.  When really, what you end up with is not anything that resembles the truth, but a huge pile of her BS taking up all of the space in the room.  Sometimes I wonder whether or not I should call her on it, or if we should just ignore the smell of all the BS surrounding her and go on.

So between the dizziness and the smelliness, I’m really kind of at a point when all I want to do is go into her room at night and just hold her.  Hold her while she’s quiet and kind and still.

Maybe things will level out again when she’s 25 (?)  Or 30 (?)

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Husband on 09/21/2007 at 12:49 pm

    She’s just like your side of the family, not like mine. We are so quiet and well mannered.

    Reply

  2. Posted by e on 09/21/2007 at 2:05 pm

    *cough*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

