Little bits.

  • So you know how I was nervous about the kids’ teachers?  Well, while I love one of them, the other child’s teacher is, um… getting off to a bad start (according to me.)  I’m trying very hard to be patient and tell myself that sometimes it takes a little while for everyone to get used to everyone else, and that maybe I should reserve judgement until after, say, the first month of school.  But I’m already judging, oh yes, I am, and she’s not coming out on the winning side.  That’s all I’m saying.
  • We said goodbye to the guinea pigs yesterday.  It was something that my husband and I wanted to do for a while, because, for goodness sake, they’re glorified rats, but we had held off on doing because they were meant for the kids.  But once we finally bit the bullet and asked, the kids said it was okay to give them away.  Okay, okay, so we played the whole going to a better home card and told the kids how much we regretted that we just weren’t able to care for them in the manner they needed to be cared for anymore.  We weren’t able to get them out in their playpen and let them run around anymore.  We kept forgetting to give them water when they ran out.  Their nails needed clipping, and I didn’t want to touch their little rat feet have time to do it.  So when I saw an ad on Craigslist –which, by the way, was the first time I’d ever done anything other than just peruse the ads– for a preschool teacher who was looking for a classroom pet, I knew the guineas would be perfect for them and I emailed her.  She came to pick them up yesterday, and I felt really bad.  I felt like I should be giving them some sort of farewell kiss or something.  Instead, I just helped her load everything into her minivan and waved goodbye.  I don’t even think she knew their names…
  • I have been using the time before I go back to work to try and get some things cleared out of the house.  We did the kids’ rooms before school started, and got a whole lot of junk out of there, and now it’s my turn to do the rest of the house.  So far I’ve managed to bring back some order to the kitchen, but I have had a metal block on the rest of the house.  I know what I want to do, and even have a “game plan” on where to start and what to do with the whole truck-full of junk I’m sure I’ll be ready to part with.  Yet I haven’t been able to bring myself to actually do any of it.  Starting this seems to be a very hard thing for me to do.  Also, does anyone know where on earth all this junk has come from?  How did we manage to accumulate all of this extra stuff in such a short time?  And, good golly, how are we managing to live in such filth?  Okay, so if you know me, you know it’s really not filthy here.  But it is beyond my comfort level.  If I had a meter that read my personal comfort level with accumulated junk, the meter would be screaming for mercy right about now.  In fact, I’m screaming for mercy right about now because this is way off my personal charts!  This is a code red!!  Maybe I should go back to obsessing about how much I think this one teacher is doing wrong.  That’ll give me something other than sroting junk to focus on.
Leave a Reply

