“…when combined, makes a special kind of cranky.”

Today was the kids’ first day of school.  And all night last night I tossed and turned.  I couldn’t sleep because I was so nervous.  I was nervous about their new teachers, and countless other things that I really had no business being nervous about, because it will all work out.  But I was nervous anyway. 

So this morning I was nervous and sleepless, which, when combined, makes a special kind of cranky.  A kind of cranky that makes you short-tempered with your children and very, very anxious.

However, in spite of it all, I managed to get the kids off to school.  I do think they were nervous too, but they were troopers, those two, real troopers.  And even when the school called me to tell me The Boy couldn’t find his lunch in his backpack, I managed to keep calm and instructed them to look in the other zippered compartment of his backpack.  And lo and behold, there was his lunch, and we were okay.

So why is it that I am feeling so emotional?  Why does it feel so much like I didn’t do something important?  Why do I feel weird about dropping them off at school and coming home alone?

Oh, it’s the alone part that feels weird.  I came home all alone.  I am now all alone.  Just me.  And I have no idea what it is they are doing right this minute.  That’s what feels weird.

And also, I forgot to take pictures.  This is the first day in their whole school careers that I have not taken pictures of them before they’ve gone.

I’m alone, and forgetful, and cranky.  Oh my.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dad on 08/27/2007 at 11:16 am

    sounds like nap time!

    Reply

  2. Posted by sara on 08/27/2007 at 2:15 pm

    relieved that it’s not just me……..

    LOVEYA!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

