Let me wallow for the night. It’s therapeutic.

Tonight we went to Open House at the kids’ school.  It was the night where we met the teachers for the first time, saw the classrooms, and found out which kids were in the same classes from last year, etc…

I just want to go on the record as saying:  I hate Open House.  It’s not that I don’t like meeting the teachers and seeing the classrooms, it’s just that I hate the crowds.  The god-awful crowds.

I also hate the big groups of parents who always walk through the school like they own the place and take up all the teacher’s time with their questions about who will run the fund-raising, and whether or not little Brent or Wyatt or Riley will have a chance to bring in their fire-juggling grandmother, or some such thing that really has no business being discussed on Open House night.  ( Am I bitter much?  Yes, very. )

Mostly I hate feeling inadequate, which I often do by not being one of those parents.  Those parents who call the teacher by their first names, and already know what time lunch will be and what days they will join the kids for their meal, for example.  They know what kinds of questions to ask to ensure that every possible kid-based scenario will be handled with the utmost of ease, and they know the right things to say to the teacher to get into their good graces.  I feel inadequate because I just go in, introduce myself, find the child’s seat, and then leave.  I don’t know what to ask yet, because I’m overwhelmed enough by the big crowds of people and all the hustle and bustle. 

Bah… tonight I’m left with a lot of emotions–some I can’t even name, much less describe–that leave me just very…discontent. 

I wish I was the type of person who felt adequate in these situations, and then maybe I could walk away from Open House feeling very content. 

And calling the teacher by her first name.

Leave a Reply

