Nil.

This morning I woke up with a strong desire to not leave the house.  You see, there are people out there, and a lot of them, and I don’t really feel like being amongst them.  I tried my hardest to think of places I could go and things I could do, but every single one of them involved people and traffic and busy, busy, busy things.  So nothing struck my fancy, and now I’m sitting here (showered, at least) at my computer wondering what it is I can do here in the house that will make me feel less like a slug.  A clean, housebound slug, but a slug nonetheless.

There do happen to be a million things I can do around the house, with cleaning being number one.  Yet I do not particularly feel like doing that, so instead I guess I’ll wait for something fortuitous to come my way.  Which, if you think about it, the chances of such a thing happening are really close to nil because I’m here in the house.  (Hmmm, there seems to be a flaw in my plan.)

But it’s Friday, right?  And if ever there is a day when you can do nothing, it’s a Friday during a summer that you aren’t working, and the kids are watching a movie, and the dog is chewing something-or-other chewy, and it’s three degrees hotter than hell outside.  So happy Friday!  May you, too, get to be a slug for the day.

And now excuse me while I go check on exactly what it is the dog is chewing on…

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by sara on 08/03/2007 at 10:38 pm

    sounds like the perfect day to climb into bed (or the couch) and read a good book!!!! i just finished harry potter and it was good!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

