Training.

Wondering how the puppy housebreaking is going?  Well, never fear, I am here to tell you all about it!  (Did you think you would get away with not hearing about my puppy’s potty habits?  You really don’t know me well, do you.)

She’s doing, um, well… doing fairly well with the housebreaking.  She has had a couple of accidents, but nothing too bad, and certainly nothing that has ruined anything.  The first accident happened the first day she was here.  She had to pee, and evidently, she had to pee right then, right there.  I chalk that one up to her not knowing that she was supposed to hold it until we were outside.  Luckily, it was in the kitchen, so it was a breeze to clean up.  Well, as much of a breeze as cleaning up a dog’s urine can be, anyway.

The second accident happened when we were out at the store.  We put her in the downstairs bathroom with a baby gate (which, incidentally, was the second containment device we had tried with her) and left the house.  When we returned, she was out in the front room, and standing next to a fresh pile of poop.  Oh, and there was a puddle of pee on the floor right outside the bathroom, where the baby gate was leaning precariously, still half attached to the doorway.  That one was not as easy to clean, and nothing near what I would call a breeze, but it was the first time she was left alone for any length of time, and I could chalk it up as a one-off.  Also, the escape from the bathroom must have been hard work, and she probably needed to relieve herself afterwards.

The next time happened when I guess I missed her telling me she had to go out.  And she just couldn’t hold it any longer.  You see, I had just taken her outside and she had played in the grass, chewed on some sticks, and just generally lounged outside, so when she went to sit in front of the back door immediately after we came back inside, I just thought she wanted to go back out and play.  But in reality, I guess she had forgotten to pee when she was outside and needed to go right back out.  But I didn’t take her out.  And she peed on the floor.  My mistake, obviously.

But I’m trying to be patient.  I just keep telling myself that even my kids had accidents when they were learning.  I can’t tell you how many times I had to change their underpants and clean up messes.  So I guess she’s doing well. 

And you can be sure that every time she goes and sits by the back door, she’s going outside.  But that makes me wonder, who’s training whom here?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sara on 08/01/2007 at 8:20 am

    sounds like a puppy!!!! 😉 no new pics???

    Reply

  2. Posted by poeticscot on 08/01/2007 at 2:30 pm

    A wonderful post and an educational experience with a difference.

    Especially like “who’s training whom here?”

    Eager to read more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

