Just one question…

You know, there was a time when I thought I would not be able to survive my three year old son’s endless questions of “why?”  I truly thought I was going to have to remove my ears so as to not hear one more why.  It was bad, y’all.

But you know what’s worse?  My now seven year old son asking endless questions.  And questions that don’t just stop at why.  He wants to know about things, how they work, what would happen if this or that happened, etc, etc, etc.  He asks questions about people, places, and things.  He is full of thoughts and ideas, and they are not always thoughts and ideas of this world, but of some sort of fantasy world that exists only in his head (or in his XBox.)  And he wants to discuss these things at length.  Nonstop.  (Always with the talking!)

Some days I still want to remove my ears, but mostly now I just want to get him to close his mouth for any length of time.   I just want him to observe and accept, not to question. 

(Oh, I know it’s all a part of who he is, and how smart he is, and how imaginative.  And it’s great, really, it is.  But, sheesh, it’s NON. STOP.)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Sara's Mom on 07/29/2007 at 2:48 pm

    You will know your job is done when he no longer asks you questions, but tells you everything. They get to the point where they no longer want your answers and when you give them you will hear, “whatever.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

