How Sadie is killing me…slowly.

The first night with Sadie (our new dog) went really well.  B took her outside to go potty right before he went to bed (around 11:30) and the I took her out once around 3:30.  She only cried very, very briefly when she was put into her crate, then she slept like a baby all night long with nary a whimper.

The second night, however, was quite a different story.  (That would be last night, for those of you keeping track.)  She cried and whined and barked when she was put into her crate, and continued to do so for what seemed like forever.  (But in retrospect, may have only been about five minutes.)  Then I had to get up with her twice more in the middle of the night.  And each time she cried like it was the end of the world.  Which, I guess, it was to her.  Needless to say, it didn’t go as smoothly as the first night.

When I thought about it though, I realized exactly why she was so upset last night, versus the night before.  The night before, she had just arrived five hours earlier, and she was tired and used to being alone (she was the last of her litter.)  She had no problem with lying down and going to sleep.  She didn’t even know we were still in the house.  But last night, she had spent all day being cuddled and loved and held, and then she discovered that if she got heavy enough sitting in my lap, I would set her down on the couch in the front room.  And once on the couch, she could lay down next to B while he played video games, and isn’t that just like heaven?  So why in the heck would she want to go into that crate and be all alone?  And by now she also knew that we were still here, and she wasn’t with us, and that right there was not how she wanted it.

If you’re the betting type, you may want to try and predict how long it will be before she’s lying in a queen sized bed with her very own pillow and her mommy and daddy cuddled next to her.  If tonight doesn’t go well, my money’s on soon.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Melissa on 07/24/2007 at 12:30 pm

    I have never been an animal person…for a myriad of reasons. But lately, I found myself questioning whether to buy Olivia a dog for her birthday. The girl gets pretty much everything she wants and that is tops on her list…but I think you have sealed the deal with me in terms of NEVER getting a dog. I don’t think I could make it through the training business.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kari on 07/24/2007 at 10:22 pm

    Hey, we have a black lab/golden retriever mix puppy, & we have never kenneled her(much to our vet’s disapproval) & she sleeps with us. Oh well, you get used to it!! The toilet training just about did me in, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

