Summer shoes.

First I wanted to give a hearty I love you guys to you all.  Thank you for being so nice to me after that last post.  It really meant a lot to me.

I had a meeting yesterday with the parents of the children I babysit, and while it was tear-filled and emotional, I think it went well.  It helped for all of us to understand where the other was coming from.  They understood that, foremost, I needed to work with my son this summer, but that I also needed a break.  In fact, a summer break may be something that can be arranged for the coming years also.  But we’ll have to see.  They still might find the holy grail, so to speak, of childcare during these months off and decide against sending their children back to my house.  But then again, they might not.  So, you know…we’ll see.

 On a totally different note, guess what came into our house yesterday.  Oh, admit it, you have no idea.  So I’ll just show you:  These shoesAnd also these shoes.

They are made out of that rubber material that those darned Crocs are made out of.  And I resisted buying any for so long.  So long!  And I would have gotten away with it, too, if it wasn’t for those meddling kids.

Also, I’ve informed the children that they are not allowed to grow any more.  I just can’t afford it.  Buying several pairs of shoes for their rapidly growing feet just about killed me.  The only thing that kept me from keeling over right there in the shoe store was the thought of how expensive an ambulance ride would be.  And let’s not get me started on the cost of healthcare… 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sara on 06/04/2007 at 8:19 am

    okay, i still can’t do the crocs! davey has been begging for some for almost a year now and i just can’t bring myself to do it!!!! i know, everyone, EVERYONE has them, but there is just something about them that bothers me……..

    and i’m so glad that your meeting went well. i bet you are already missing them…..

    Reply

  2. Posted by e on 06/04/2007 at 11:03 am

    Well…actually…the kids are still here until July 1st – because their parents didn’t have any backup and now they have to scramble to find someone to take care of them. So really they’ll only be gone for 2 months. (Unless, of course, they decide not to come back…and I feel like I should keep on saying that until I know for sure that they’ll be back.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

